Istanbul Constantinople- the first day

I left off about a month ago… yeah I suck lately. I get it.

But here is the journey in the exciting Istanbul. We left Lucerne on

Friday night and arrived into Istanbul pretty late. We had decided to

use Airbnb to rent a flat right near Taksim Square. Our host met us to let us

in and it was already 11pm by this point so we opted for sleep

and to get up bright and early the next day to poke around town.

Here are some pictures from our first day.

IMG_5108

Trolley rolling through Taksim.

IMG_5111

Traditional Turkish breakfast. This is a sauce of eggs, tomatoes, peppers and

other things that you eat with bread. I also head plenty of tea.

IMG_5137

The Blue Mosque.

IMG_5138

Hagia Sophia. My absolute favorite site

IMG_5142

The beauty instead of Hagia.

IMG_5144

Mosaic inside of Hagia.

IMG_5177

My favorite meal that we had at Babel Cafe. It’s right near Taksim and I highly

recommend this gem. SO MUCH HUMMUS! This might have been

the best hummus I’ve ever had in my life.

IMG_5154

Sights from the Grand Bazaar.

IMG_5163

Crossing the Bosphorus.

IMG_5165

After walking around all day we decided to have a drink near the Galata

Tower.

IMG_5152

And soooo much Baklava. I’m sorry I’m not sorry. It’s too good

to not enjoy at least 30lbs daily.

One thought on “Istanbul Constantinople- the first day

Leave a Reply

