If you’re not saying yes…

Well. I am officially in my 28th year of life. I have to say…

it feels better than I thought it would. I feel on top of

the world. Literally!

(a little NH hike at Mt. Kearsarge)

IMG_7392

I’ve decided this is the year of YES.

“If you’re not saying yes, then you’re saying no.” You heard it.

I kind of already follow this rule but the power of yes and positive

thinking is sure to get you far. I swear by it. And this year is going to be great.

And I’ve got to say.. I’m already off to a hell of a good start.

IMG_7384

So I said yes to jumping out of a plane. It was an amazing choice.

Yup. I convinced Lizzie this was a good idea and she should do it it too.

For a quick moment in time, I was a wee bit nervous.

That moment was here.

1382989_10101282387741539_1967259363_n

Standing at the door was the only moment I had a quick thought that…

well this could be it. But before my brain could tell me to bail, I

was flying and soaring through the air.

1385179_10101282388001019_1699418662_n

I jumped. I leapt. I was flying. And man it felt good. It was the kind of rush

that keeps you coming back for more. The kind that gives you a high.

I’d like to compare it to love or lust in the sense that you just want more.

You can’t get it out of your head. You get hooked. I am hooked.

I haven’t laughed or smiled that hard in a long time. I was straight

cheesin’ the entire way down. It was glorious! When I got to the bottom,

I ran with arms open to Lizzie. I was thankful we made it alive.

5832_10101282391114779_1706756046_n

So I can say with certainty, 28 is kind of awesome. And a few drinks

didn’t hurt to make it awesome either.

IMG_7282

I was lucky to celebrate with friends in the best and worst kind of way.

I also thought that running a nice long distance race was a killer way

to make it awesome.

IMG_7345

I ran the BAA half with Miss. Emily and PR’d. I ran that thing on 2 hours of

sleep in 1 hour and 48 minutes. I don’t even know how it’s possible

but I did it. I shaved almost 5 minutes off my previous PR. Does this mean

I am kind of a legit runner? I’m not the best but I’m not the worst.

Which is probably why I just keep torturing myself and signing up for

races. But where there are races… there will be beer in my near future.

.

So my advice for the next year of life? Just say yes. Whenever and

wherever you can. You never know what crazy, weird, awesome and/or

amazing things will come out of it. So go out there. And get weird.

One thought on “If you’re not saying yes…

Leave a Reply

