Rocky Mountain high… on peanut butter cups

Happy Easter Everyone! I spent the holiday weekend gallivanting

through the woods and up the mountains in Rocky Mountain

National Park.

IMG_8741

I know. You’re jealous. For good reason though. This place is ridiculous.

It will make you fall in love so hard you won’t be able to quit it.

.

I got out of work early on Friday so I opted to take off and head to

Estes Park for the holiday weekend. Since my family is split between

Maine and Alaska, it was too difficult to see anyone this time around.

So I took a me weekend. This means I haven’t showered in 3 days.

TMI?

IMG_8719

It was pretty great. I did some snowshoeing near bear lake up to

emerald lake. I went hiking to Gem Lake where I thought

 going off the trail and scaling rocks was a good idea.

It got a little scary at the top. So much so that I froze up and

was breathing pretty heavily. Smart move, Kandi.

IMG_8738

Being away from family sucks. Especially around the holidays.

I find the best way to beat the blues and the homesickness

is to get outside and remind yourself why you’re living where you are.

I moved west because I wanted to enjoy the outdoor space, fresh

air and altitude. And I got all that this weekend in addition to a

very smelly car.

IMG_8727

(I have the sunburn to prove that the altitude is no joke. Wear sunscreen kids.

Vitamin D is good and all but red skin doesn’t look good on anyone.)

.

My homesickness is in check again. And I’m actively trying to figure out

how to buy a home in Estes Park. I have a feeling that me and RMNP

will be having a long-term love affair. It’s climbing the list as one of my

favorite parks. Not to mention that Estes has some pretty great food

options. I was inhaling so much thai and indian food before

I came back to Wyoming. I know, I know. It’s hard to believe

Wyoming doesn’t have a great asian food scene.

.

If you STILL can’t kick the homesickness, how about you

make my homemade peanut butter cups to drown your sorrows?

IMG_8667

.

Easy Homemade Semi Healthy Peanut Butter Cups:

1- Mix 1/2 cup peanut butter & 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut.

2- Pour a layer of pb mixture into mini cupcake wrapper.

3- On stove top- mix 2 tbsp of coconut oil, 2 tbsp cocoa

powder and 1tbsp of maple syrup. You can opt to use honey if you like.

4- once chocolate is ready- pour a layer on top of the peanut butter layer.

5- freeze them until you can’t wait any longer.

Note: This recipe made me about 20 cups but will vary depending on how

full your wrappers are.

.

Enjoy drowning your sorrows! However you decide to do that.

IMG_8747

Selfies in national parks are better than any other selfie.

Leave a Reply

