Running, Wyoming and Real Men

I’d like to start by saying yesterday I had the WORST run ever. And I’m pretty confident in saying that. I couldn’t get into a groove. Usually I hit mile 4 and it’s smooth sailing. Not the case. Turns out I was so dehydrated, I thought I was going to die, started seeing spots and had to cut it at 9 miles and spend the rest of the day hydrating. So no Sunday Funday for me. Just water. Coconut water. More water. Etc. So boring.

IMG_8717

I shouldn’t complain since I had a lot of good runs last week. Last week I was lucky enough to be traveling around Wyoming breathing clean air and visiting some amazing spots. I took advantage of the travel time to run some new trails/pathways in the state. I LOVE running when I travel. It’s the best  because you can find some epic trails and running paths and everything feels fresh and new. The pic above is Jackson. Obvi. Like I would travel to my beloved Jackson and not take on their beautiful pathways. I died a little. Or a lot.

IMG_8770

I also took part in some dancing while checking out the Teets. Dancing counts as stretching right? I thought so too.

IMG_8769

I made a new friend. He was the official welcome committee into Cody, Wyo. Home of the east entrance into Yellowstone. Which is still covered by about 700 feet of snow. I saw nothing in the park. The snow is being super selfish and covering everything. GET OUT ALREADY.

IMG_8794

I made it to the historical Occidental Hotel in Buffalo. Every Thursday they do a jam session with local musicians. It was pretty awesome. I highly suggest it if you’re in the area. There are cowboys and more taxidermy than one can count on their fingers and toes. But invite me when you go ok?

IMG_8800

I finished out the work week with a glorious run on the Clear Creek trail in Buffalo. It literally takes you to the foot of the Big Horns. Again, dying. It’s hard to believe this stuff is my backyard… in relative terms. It was a good trip and it was awesome to see some of my favorite places again since Wyoming is my new home. 3 months deep and still loving it. Sorry east coast. This place is kind of bad ass. Not to mention I met a 13 year old boy who is the most Wyoming man I’ve met since I’ve been here. I’m not kidding. He hunts, fishes, skins his own animals and has a bullet lodged in his leg. He also spoke to me like no man has ever attempted to do. It  was weird and I actually hope no man ever speaks to me that way again. But kudos to the kid for being so bold. More men should be just that, men.

After this week, you better believe I’m going to enjoy some cocktails with friends. A holiday on the horizon. And summer following close behind. Come on Wyoming. I know you have it in you to quit winter once and for all. Break-up already. Everybody hates you together. It’s not working. You can do better. There are plenty of seasons in the sea. You’re too good for this. Yadda. Yadda. Yadda.

IMG_8772

One thought on “Running, Wyoming and Real Men

  1. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of
    your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me
    to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

