What I know and don’t even come close to knowing at 29

This post is late. I’ve been slacking a little but cut ME some slack. I just turned 29 and ran a marathon. So I’ve been kind of been a little busy having some fun and not running.

IMG_0704

I thought being 29 would make me more wise. I’m just older. So here are some things that I don’t know and some things I do know at 29.

What I want to do with my life. I have no idea. Does anyone really know?

Where I want to live. I have no clue. Boston still feels like home to me. Wyoming is great but I’m not ready to say forever. Other places on my livable list- Portland Oregon, Boulder, Asheville and Seattle.

When I will settle down. Probably never. I think I can keep having adventures and fun long after I meet someone.

What is the meaning of life. My answer would likely include days filled with laughs, bags of swedish fish and a really attractive boyfriend. I haven’t figured this one out yet.

(These are my marathon fishies. Breakfast of champions.)

IMG_0713

What does 30 feel like. I don’t know. Because I’m not 30…yet.

The best question of all time from my niece “Why don’t you have a boyfriend yet? I don’t know what to tell anyone anymore.” Me either girl. But I will tell people that I’ve now been betrayed by my niece who has jumped on the “every single girl needs a boyfriend.” I should just tell her I’m a lesbian. It might be more believable at this point.

What is right and what is wrong. I’m here to tell you that I don’t know. I do know there are a lot of ways to get to the right answer. There is no one way. Do you know how to solve poverty, world hunger or figure out why the Big Dig didn’t help Boston traffic AT ALL? No. Didn’t think so. Step down from the soap box.

IMG_3498Why does booze taste so good but hurt so bad? I don’t know. But if someone can teach me that I will feel like complete ass the day after drinking, I’d pay you so much money.

Your parents are almost always right. Nothing is 100% in this life. But I’d say they are like 99% spot on most of the time.

IMG_8864

You can change your mind. As much as you want to. Until you can’t anymore. There are no truer words.

People will judge you. They will. It’s true. But it’s your job to realize they are judging for a reason that has nothing to do with you. Because otherwise, why would they care what you do? Shouldn’t they be busy living their own life?

Pain is temporary.

Beer taste good.

Running Marathons are hard. But it will change you and your life. And you will feel like such a bad ass knowing that less than 1% of the US population completes one.

IMG_0737

YOU CAN DO ANYTHING. You can. Anything you want, go for it. Just go for it. I dare you. Did I empower you?

What matters most in this life? Family. Friends. Nights that should never ever end. Pizza at 2am. Being the person you always wanted to be. Feeling challenged. A good glass of wine. A perfectly curated box of chocolate. 70 degree days. Helping others. Giving your time. Having the most fun that you can every single day. Rising above. Doing things you never thought you could. But that’s just my take.

(Friends that turn into family.)

IMG_9305

(Climbing mountains alone.)

IMG_8966

(Wine or champagne. Both are delicious.)

IMG_5081

So here’s to 29 being awesome.

What do you know or not know at this point?

Leave a comment